2013 Retreat Schedule

Monday, February 4, 2013


 8:00 a.m. – 8:55 a.m.              Registration, Breakfast, and Poster setup
8:55 am Welcome              Ruth Lehmann, PhD
and opening remarks          Director, Kimmel Center for Stem Cell Biology
                                      Director, Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine
Session I- Programming and Reprogramming
9:10 am – 10:10 am
         Chair:  Lyn Wilson, PhD
                   Depts of Cell Biology and Urology
9:10 am                  Iannis Aifantis, PhD
                               Dept of Pathology
9:30 am                  Roberto Bonasio, PhD
                               Dept of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
                               2013 Kimmel Senior Postdoc Fellow; Reinberg Lab
9:50 am                 Mamta Tahiliani, PhD
                               Skirball Institute; Dept of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
10:10 – 10:40 am         Coffee Break
Session II - Disease
10:40 am – 12:00 pm        
         Chair: David Levy, PhD
                   Assoc Dean Collaborative Science; Depts of Pathology and Microbiology
10:40 am               Susan Smith, PhD
                              Skirball Institute; Dept Pathology
11:00 am              Markus Schober, PhD
                              Depts of Dermatology and Cell Biology
11:20 am               Steven Burden, PhD
                              Skirball Institute; Depts of Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology and Cell Biology
11:40 am               Naoko Tanese, PhD
                              Depts of Microbiology 
12:00 – 1:50 pm                           Lunch and Posters
Session III - Tissue Specific Stem Cells
1:50 pm – 3:30 pm        
         Chair: Jane Skok, PhD
                   Dept of Pathology 
1:50 pm                 Eva Hernando, PhD
                              Dept of Pathology
2:10 pm                Glenn Fishman, MD
                              Depts of Medicine (Cardio), Phys. & Neuroscience, and Biochemistry & Mol. Pharmacology
2:30 pm                 Holger Knaut, PhD
                              Skirball Institute, Dept of Cell Biology
2:50 pm                 Susan Logan, PhD
                              Depts of Urology and Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology
3:10 pm                 Erika Bach, PhD
                              Dept of Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology
Session IV - Ethics Lecture
3:30 pm - 4:00 pm
        Chair: Ruth Lehmann, PhD
                 Director, Kimmel Center for Stem Cell Biology
                 Director, Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine
3:30 - 4:00pm            Arthur Caplan, PhD
                             Director, Division of Medical Ethics
4:00 – 5:00 pm         Tea and Poster Viewing
5:00pm                       Keynote Address
                             Dr. Stuart H. Orkin, MD
                             David G Nathan Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School;
                             Chair of the Pediatric Oncology Department at Dana Farber Cancer Institute;
                             HHMI Investigator
                            - Introduced by William Carroll, MD
                              Director of the NYU Cancer Institute, Professor Depts of Pediatrics and Pathology
6:00pm                     Poster Prizes and Concluding Remarks